Translation of Economic and Administrative Texts TRAE 354

Main Course Goals: This course is to examine with students the practical issues involved in advanced translation in the fields of economics and administration including economic issues, banking, trade, import and export, taxes and customs. The students will have an opportunity to learn and share among themselves useful translation procedures and terminologies related to the field. Students sharpen awareness of translation techniques and enhance professional performance. This course concentrates through regular home and class assignments followed by discussions of the students’ work, on translating representative and graded texts on commerce.

Tentative Weekly Schedule
Week Gregorian Hijri Lesson
1 Sun., Sep. 18 17/12/1437 Registration + Orientation
2 Sun., Sep. 25 24/12/1437 Introduction
3 Sun., Oct. 2 1/1/1438 Text 1: Economics
4 Sun., Oct. 9 8/1/1438 Text 2: Credit
5 Sun., Oct. 16 15/1/1438 Text 3: Banking
6 Sun., Oct. 23 22/1/1438 Text 4: Business Forms
7 Sun., Oct. 30 29/1/1438 Text 5: Accounting
8 Sun., Nov. 6 6/2/1438 Midterm 1
9 Sun., Nov. 13 13/2/1438 Mid-Term Break
10 Sun., Nov. 20 20/2/1438 Grammar of headlines + Language of stock markets
11 Sun., Nov. 27 27/2/1438 Text 6: Stock markets
12 Sun., Dec. 4 5/3/1438 Text 7: Metals Market
13 Sun., Dec. 11 12/3/1438 Text 8: Inflation
14 Sun., Dec. 18 19/3/1438 Text 9: The Dutch Disease
15 Sun., Dec. 25 26/3/1438 Midterm 2
16 Sun., Jan. 1 3/4/1438 ORAL EXAMS WEEK
Sun., Jan. 8 – Mon., Jan. 23 Exams
Course Materials