Click underlined text for links
George E. Carvell, PhD, PT   University of Pittsburgh
Different cortical regions become more or less active at different stages of sensorimotor learning. Six subjects learned a set of visuomotor sequences. fMRI imaging shows levels of activity in four zones involved in the learning process. Note the shift in activity levels from frontal to parietal areas as the subjects go from early to intermediate to advanced stages of learning. The Intraparietal Sulcus (IPS), unlike the other cortical areas, remains highly active after the transition from intermediate to advanced learning.
* = p < 0.05 (Wilcoxan signed rank test)
DLPFC = Dorsolateral Prefrontal Cortex
IPS = Intraparietal Sulcus
Fig 7
p 147
O. Hikosaka, K. Miyashita, S. Miyachi, K. Sakai and X. Lu, Differential Roles of the Frontal Cortex, Basal Ganglia, and Cerebellum in Visuomotor Sequence Learning. Neurobiol Learning and Memory 70: 137-149, 1998